Oklahoma has a statewide medical cannabis program that blesses qualified citizens with the right to access cannabis through an easy and streamlined process. The State Question 807 was aimed at legalizing recreational cannabis but it was withdrawn from the 2020 general election. Well, the ballot is likely to be taken back in the future. Until then, qualified individuals have the provision to access medical cannabis.
2020 was a defining year for cannabis enthusiasts in the country. By May 2020, Oklahoma had already issued 2428 dispensary licenses, 1611 processor licenses, and 6346 grower licenses.
The State Question 788 led to the formation of Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (0MMA) which established the rules and regulations governing the medical marijuana program in Oklahoma. Plus, the revised emergency rules came into effect from August 6,2018. Under the law, a cannabis card holder can legally possess up to:
- 6 mature cannabis plants
- 6 seedling plants
- 72 ounces of edible cannabis
- 8 ounces of cannabis at their residence
- 3 ounces of cannabis per person
- 1 ounce of concentrated cannabis
Well, before gaining access to this right, the individual must find a certified cannabis doctor who is registered with the state and qualified to give you accurate guidance about using cannabis.
Table OF Content
Possession and cultivation regulations in Oklahoma
The rules require individuals to undergo 420 evaluations through a certified doctor to gain the right to access cannabis. The law permits 3 ounces of cannabis on their person and up to 8 ounces on the residence. As mentioned, the patient is allowed to cultivate up to 6 mature cannabis plants. This provision is great because growing your own plants brings you a step closer to understanding the dynamics of cannabis space and using it in a better way for your health.
It’s worth noting that only registered patients, caregivers, and researchers are allowed to legally possess medical marijuana once their application form is approved.. They should be registered with the OMMA and can possess up to:
- 3 ounces of usable cannabis
- 1 ounce of cannabis concentrates
- 72 ounces of edible products in public and 8 ounces at residence
Cannabis DUI laws
While cannabis is legal in the state, it is not permitted to travel or drive under the influence of cannabis. The law states that it is illegal to drive with detectable amounts of THC in blood, urine, and saliva. The authorities have the right to request a chemical test if found suspicious. The penalties are as follows:
- First offense is counted as a misdemeanor that comes with minimum 10 days to up to 1 year in jail. Plus, there is a $1000 fine and the offender must participate in a drug and alcohol assessment program all at their own expense.
- Second offense within 10 years comes with a punishment of 1 to 5 years in jail. Plus, there is a $2500 fine.
- Second felony convictions come with 1 to 7 years in jail with $5000 fine, 240 hours of community service, and must participate in drug and alcohol assessment at all their own expense.
If you want to get more information about this, you can read about marijuana related penalties.
Rights of a registered patient in Oklahoma
A medical marijuana card in Oklahoma gives you the right to access cannabis without any hassle and barriers. Well, here are the rights you can enjoy:
- You can enroll in school without being discriminated on the basis of your marijuana use.
- You are allowed to rent an apartment and the landlord cannot evict you on the basis of card possession.
- You can work at the place of employment without being discriminated for possessing a cannabis card.
Authorities cannot suspend your state-issued licenses solely on the basis of a cardholder status.
So, having an Oklahoma cannabis card comes with lots of benefits and it makes accessing cannabis a lot smoother for you without any possible hassle from the law and authorities. If you think your rights are being violated, contact a marijuana positive lawyer near you for help.